Login



Lustica is a peninsula located on the right hand side of the entrance to the Bay of Kotor.  It covers an area of 47 km2 (which is about 1/6 of the entire Municipality area), and is about 13 km long.  The highest point is mountain Obosnik 582 m high.  Due to its unique terrain the coastline is 35km long, which represents 12% of the total length of the Montenegrin coast.  Its name comes from the Latin name Lustica, which means brightness, or light.  The name could also come from the shape of the peninsula since it is in form of a shell, local words Lug or Luski are in fact another names for shell.  It is mainly believed that the name came from the fact that it is the sunniest region of the Bay of Kotor.  Lustica was first mentioned in 1223-1234, at the time it was under the domain of King Radoslav, who gave the peninsula to the town of Kotor.

There are 10 villages on the peninsula with 400 inhabitants altogether (Rose, Zambelici, Mitrovici, Mrkovi, Mardari, Zabrdje, Klinci, Begovici, Brguli, Radovanici, Markovici, etc)

Lustica is famous for olives, olive oil, and prosciutto, cheese in oil and plumb brandy (or rakija).  The famous excursion destinations are also located here, like Zanjice, Arza, Dobrec, etc.

The peninsula  has a very rich cultural heritage, with about 20 churches, 18 orthodox and 2 catholic, this fact speaks about the integrated life lead here.  The most interesting is Saint Lazar church from 1605 that on its bell tower has both a cross and a crescent moon, placed there for security reasons, since the Turks during their reign would pillage the villages but would not touch the religious places. 

Another interesting church is the church of Saint Petka that was 1st mentioned in 1605 in documents kept in Kotor archives, it has Greek decor depicted.  It is believed that it was built in 1596.  The interior walls and the iconoclasts of the church where painted with frescoes by Dimitrije Daskal in 1704, when the original frescoes had been removed.  Most interesting are 17 frescoes describing the life and miracles of Saint Petka, and it is believed to be the most complete work of art on the Balkans.  Located on the east entrance of the Bay of Kotor is a small island with  a monastery.  In historical archives it is 1st mentioned in 1508 like Saint Maria “de Sagnic”.  The monastery complex contains a number of buildings surrounded by a large wall.  On the west side  there is a large circular tower.  In the center is the church of the Holy Mother of God. The interior walls are lively decorated, but also the exterior shows the remnants of frescoes.

Beside cultural, many historical treasures are also located here, the remains of the Austro-Hungarian occupation (such as Arza).  The specific architecture on the Lustica peninsula creates authentic urban settlements from the local villages.

 

 

CUSTOMER SERVICE
Montenegro Tourist Service
Podgorica
Mob: 00382 69 66 55 12,
Tel/Fax: 00382 20 511 200
info@booking.me
GUEST GUIDE
payment methods
- bank transfer
- credit card
AmericanexpressDinersMastercardVisa